top of page

Simply Surrender!


When this year started, I believe I received a word from the Lord, this phrase implanted itself in my mind all of a sudden and I could not seem to get it out. I remember waking up to scribble it in my journal when I first received it, “ Do not overindulge in the things that do not glorify God”. And thinking about it, I realized that it was not going to be an easy thing for me to do since literally my entire thoughts were consumed with worldly things. From the movies I watched, to what I spent my time thinking about; my spiritual growth was stunted as a result.

So, the first thing that I looked at was who I was in the relationship I was in. I was a complaining, worried person, with a low self esteem and I struggled to make the person I was with into the idea that was in my head. This had in turn become an idol in that I spent more time on it and thinking about it than I did with God. I knew God did not approve of this relationship and that this was one of the things that took the most space in my mind; but I struggled to let it go. I failed to perceive how I would be happy again without it, failing to see that I wasn’t happy in it, I was broken. So the first major thing I did was end this relationship and trusted God to start His healing within me.

The second thing I did in a bid to be closer to God, I started on a 21 day fast. Those who know me, know how I love food and how much something would have to mean to me for me to forgo it. But I went all in, trusting that if I gave it all to God something in me would click and God would start to change me. I changed even what I exposed myself to, what I watched, what I searched for on the internet. The results were more than I hoped for going into it. It is really true that what you feed grows!

To be honest, I thought I would get tangible rewards, like a new job, the scholarship I was hoping to get. But in turn, I got something completely different. I gave what I had to God and I slowly watched Him become everything I need. He gave me peace, He gave me joy. I know occasionally I do have some issues, because we never reach perfection, but I am fully aware that God is at work in me and that He has me in His hands and He will never let me go! “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:38-39. This has become my mantra as I walk through life because it helps me see how His grace is sufficient for me.

This comes as an encouragement to those of you that are tightly holding on to something that God is asking you to let go off. He perceives every stage in your journey and what is ahead of you, so this might be His was of leading you into the path that you need to be for your purpose. Look at what His word says! “For I know the plans I have for you," declares the LORD, "plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11. If there is one thing I’m growing to know beyond the measure of a doubt is that “the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” Hebrews 4:12. Always remember that God would not call you into a certain season and not give you the grace for that season. His grace will always be sufficient for you even when you find yourself weak or when you fall, "But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me." 2 Corinthians 12:9.

My best encouragement for you would be to surrender to God, and watch Him become everything you need.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page