top of page

The Terminator Analogy


I just loved the movie terminator. It showed me a concept that was previously unheard of, a bad guy coming from the future to assassinate a woman before she even knew she was going to lead the rebellion. I was still young back then and it was so hard for me to relate to that becoming a reality. I just loved the action and the fact that a protector was also sent from the future to protect Sarah Connor. She was under attack and never even understood why in that moment because she could never have anticipated that one day, she would stand to lead a rebellion.

Lately I've been having the most trying time at work. It got so bad that it had me doubting my capabilities and even my purpose. The little things would be blown out of proportion and followed up by the most abusive language and tone of reprimand. I wouldn't want to lie, but it caught me unaware all the time and had the same effect every time. That is, me doubting my capabilities and feeling sorry for myself.

And then I thought of the verse, the enemy coming only to steal, kill and destroy(John 10:10). It is in that moment that I understood what was happening at my place of work. What does the enemy need to steal, kill and destroy? It's your sense of purpose, and your ability to see the gifts that the Lord has placed within you. So essentially, in a couple of months, he had creeped in and affected my ability to see the gifts that God had placed within me. As a result, I had stopped stirring the gift. Don't get me wrong, I am by no means perfect in the work I do. But one thing is for certain, I am always mindful that I work hard and put my all in what I am doing so as to add value to the company. It's just like in the movie terminator, when the futuristic robot comes to kill Sarah Connor before she even knows the great purpose that she was set to accomplish. This is just as the enemy works in such ways to try and destroy us before we see who we could become by affecting our perception of who God has made us to be which in turn stops us from stirring the gift and having faith in what is to come.

“You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.” 1 John 4:4

The good news that we get from this verse is that He will never stop reminding you of who you are and what He has put inside of you. He will convict your spirit and then you have to be intentional about using the tools He has given us through the word not to let the enemy develop a stronghold in your life that will literally hold you back from purpose. Stand firm and know that God has an amazing purpose for your life. He has blessed us all with gifts.

“6 We have different gifts, according to the grace given to each of us. If your gift is prophesying, then prophesy in accordance with your faith;

7 if it is serving, then serve; if it is teaching, then teach;

8 if it is to encourage, then give encouragement; if it is giving, then give generously; if it is to lead,do it diligently; if it is to show mercy, do it cheerfully.” Romans 12:6-8

Even if you don't see it now, always be mindful that, God made you with your unique capabilities for a reason. Through these He will work in you to bring you to a place of purpose. Never doubt who God created you to be and like Sarah Connor you might just find that you were created to save an entire nations.


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page